logo link
ESC blog
Entomological Society of Canada - News Feed
Version fran├žaise
Entomological Society of Canada - C. Gordon Hewitt Award

C. Gordon Hewitt Award Winners

1975    R.P. Bodnaryk
1976    B.S. Heming
1977    J.H. Borden
1978    S.B. Mciver
1979    J.N. Mcneil
1980    H.V. Danks
1981    G.H. Gerber
1982    S.S. Tobe
1983    No Award
1984    No Award
1985    M.L. Winston
1986    No Award
1987    No Award
1988    G. Boivin

1989    S.A. Marshall
1990    B. Roitberg
1991    M. Isman
1992    D.L. Johnson
1993    S.M. Smith
1994    D.T.W. Quiring
1995    D. Langor
1996    T.J. Lysyk
1997    J. Brodeur
1998    No Award
1999    T. Wheeler
2000    K.D. Floate
2001    R.S. Bourchier
2002    No Award

2003    H. Proctor
2004    No Award
2005    D. Hegedus
2006    C. Buddle
2007    M. Evenden
2008    No Award
2009    S. Van Laerhoven
2010    D. Huber
2011    K. Hillier
2012    B.J. Sinclair
2013    C. Cutler
2014    Patrice Bouchard
2015    Cory Sheffield
2016    Amro Zayed


The C. Gordon Hewitt Award (referred to hereafter as the Hewitt Medal) shall be awarded annually by the Society, save when the Achievement Awards Committee or the Governing Board deem that no awards should be made.

Nominees for the C. Gordon Hewitt Award must have successfully defended their doctoral thesis in the 12 years ending on December 31 of the year in which the Award is received. Parental, compassionate or medical leave is not counted as part of the 12-year period; however, such periods must be identified in the letter from the nominator.

The recipients shall be judged to have made an outstanding contribution to entomology in Canada on the basis, not only of demonstrated competence, but also of one or more of the following criteria:

  • Superior research accomplishment, either as a single contribution or as a series of associated endeavours, which may be in either entomology per se or a related field in which the results obtained are of great consequence for entomology in Canada;
  • Meritorious contribution to entomological scholarship or literature, whether or not this be based upon the recipient's own original research, and whether or not it be based upon predominantly Canadian material, providing that the contribution be identifiably Canadian in origin;
  • Dedicated and fruitful service in the field of entomological education in Canada;
  • Unusually valuable practical application of scientific or technological expertise to the credit of entomology in Canada;
  • Special contributions in the fields of advisory, extension, industrial, or public relations work in or to the credit of entomology in Canada.
  • Administrative activities leading to the achievements of others or to general advances in the science or prestige of entomology in Canada;
  • Long and meritorious service to the Society, or to an Affiliate.
  • No more than one Hewitt Award shall be awarded each year, but, where circumstances warrant, more than one individual may be cited in connection with a single Award.

    Recipients of the Awards need not be members of the Society, nor need they be domiciled in Canada, providing that their contribution be judged to have, or to have had, major impact on entomology in Canada.

    The Award may be made on more than one occasion to the same individual or group of individuals, but only for distinctly different contributions to entomology in Canada.